Barbados Jewish Community

President’s Message – January 28

Word of the week:

Dear all,

Yesterday was International Holocaust Remembrance Day. “January 27 was chosen specifically by the United Nations because it is the anniversary of the liberation of prisoners from Auschwitz-Birkenau”. We remember and honor the lives of the 6 million Jews who perished at the hands of Nazis persecution.

HOLOCAUST MEMORIAL DAY PRESENTATION:
Our sincere thanks go out to Dr. Diane F. Afoumado, chief of the Holocaust Survivors and Victims Resource Centre at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C., who addressed our community on Wednesday. As promised during her address, Dr. Afoumado has sent us a link to an online research request form: https://www.ushmm.org/remember/resources-holocaust-survivors-victims/individual-research/services/getting-started

You can fill in this form to search for anyone you know who died or survived the war. Once you submit the form, you should email Dr. Diane Afoumado so that she can retrieve your requests and assign them to a researcher. If you email her, please remind her that you met during the “Barbados Presentation”.

Her email address is: dafoumado@ushmm.org

EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES:
Jewish Lives podcast on Yitzhak Rabin. Click here to listen.
An invitation was received from CJWN for an event on the 1st February to ‘A Jewish Woman’s Journey to Success’ an online Jewish Women’s networking event with Dr Janét Aizenstros, Chairwoman and CEO of Ahava Group Global.  They have created space in the programme for networking opportunities for Jewish women from across all the Commonwealth Jewish communities.  They would love it if you would join them and add our communities’ voice to the event.
The event online times for the 1st February are as follows:

  • 10:00 (EST)
  • 15:00 (GMT)
  • 16:00 (CET)
  • 17:00 (SAST)
  • 18:00 (EAT)
  • 20:30 (IST)

Please click here to join the Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/7891001000
Meeting ID: 789 100 1000

The Ritchie Boys, a secret U.S WWII unit (a 60 minutes presentation)
https://www.cbsnews.com/video/ritchie-boys-world-war-ii-60-minutes-video-2022-01-02/

IN PERSON SERVICE
We encourage you to join us in person tomorrow at Nidhe Israel synagogue for services. Services begin promptly at 6:30pm.  Please email bjc@jewishbarbados.org if you plan to attend in person.

ZOOM SERVICE

For those attending Friday night’s services on ZOOM at 6:30pm, please click this link to join us.

Please click this link for a copy of our siddur.
https://www.bethshalomnb.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/Shabbat-evening-SIDDUR-SIM-SHALOM.pdf

FEBRUARY YAHRZEITS
Marshall Oran – February 2
Marilyn Karp – February 10

Shabbat Shalom!

Sharon Oran
President, Barbados Jewish Community